The Ministry of Health has directed the following four regulatory health colleges to amalgamate to form a new, multi-profession college on June 28, 2024:

This amalgamation is part of the Ministry of Health’s multi-year initiative to modernize BC’s health profession regulatory framework.

The four colleges will continue to regulate health professionals until they amalgamate on June 28, 2024. If, before this day, you have questions or concerns about the regulation of any of these health professions, please contact the appropriate college directly.

Not sure what this amalgamation entails? Watch this short video for an overview.

Expected benefits of amalgamation

  • Provide members of the public with a central point of contact for questions and concerns about the health professionals the college regulates
  • Enhance public protection by creating greater consistency in how these health professions are regulated
  • Increase efficiency and effectiveness with greater access to resources and expertise

Amalgamation Project Leadership

Allan Seckel, K.C.

Allan Seckel, K.C.

Allan Seckel, K.C., was appointed by the Ministry of Health to lead this amalgamation under the Health Professions Act. In this position, Allan assumes the powers of the college Boards for work relating to the amalgamation.

Joanie Bouchard

Joanie Bouchard

Joanie Bouchard is the Registrar for the College of Dietitians of BC. Joanie is the Chief Transition Officer for the Amalgamation Project, providing overall leadership and guidance for the implementation of the project’s plan.

Carin Plischke

Carin Plischke

CEO of new college

Carin Plischke has been appointed the CEO of the new college. Carin is a trained occupational therapist. She is currently the Registrar and CEO of the College of Occupational Therapists of BC (COTBC). Carin is a member of the Canadian College of Health Leaders.

Carin will assume her role on a full-time basis starting June 28, 2024. Until then, she is available to the amalgamation project on a part-time basis, as needed, while continuing to oversee COTBC.

Territorial Acknowledgement

Together, the four amalgamating colleges regulate more than 10,000 health professionals, including: Chiropractors, Massage Therapists, Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners, Acupuncturists, and Naturopathic Physicians, who practise in the province of what is referred to today as B.C. We acknowledge that these health regulatory colleges serve all people living in the traditional and unceded territories of over 200 First Nations and Indigenous people from all parts of colonial British Columbia. Indigenous refers to First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples in Canada.